Back to main
Efua Southern New York, NY Luxury Travel Agent
Tzell Travel Group
Australia & New Zealand, East and Southeast Asia, Israel, United Arab Emirates, South America
Safari, Premier Concierge Services, Outdoor Activities & Sports, Hiking, Groups

Efua Southern

New York, New York Travel Agent
My Travel Agent Life

Throughout my life, I have had a strong thirst for travel and discovery. I have followed the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, cage-dived with sharks in Hawaii, stared in awe at Mount Everest from the Tibetan base camp, inexpertly ridden a camel in the Gobi Desert and discovered that I could get very seasick while sailing a 40-foot yacht from Sydney to the Whitsunday Islands.

I have been on the move from my earliest memories. I went to boarding school in England starting at three years old so being a bit of a nomad has always felt natural to me. I circled the globe by myself four separate times and spent a year teaching English in China.  

I was not always a travel advisor, though. I worked in many different environments, from the television industry to public relations and information technology, but one thing always remained the same: I love to journey around the world. After more than ten years of holding various professional roles in central London, I spent a year seeing the world with the man who was to become my husband.  

When we came home in 2011, I had a “now or never” moment and decided to turn my passion for travel into my career. I took a pay cut and started at the bottom as an intern at a small travel agency in London. About a year later, I joined Trailfinders, one of the largest travel agencies in the UK.

My husband and I eventually had the opportunity to move to New York City, and I joined Bear and Bear, now an affiliate of Tzell Travel Group. It was my first job in the United States, and it is the only job I have had or wanted in this country. It is the perfect fit for me as it provides me with the tools to create unforgettable experiences for my clients.

Read more here:

Share my profile: